Review: Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

Endless Knight

Endless Knight by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #2
Published: 01 October 2013
by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Hardcover, 336 pages
Source: Library

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR POISON PRINCESS.

Shocking secrets.
Evie has fully come into her powers as the Tarot Empress, and Jack was there to see it all. She now knows that the teens who’ve been reincarnated as the Tarot are in the throes of an epic battle. It’s kill or be killed, and the future of mankind hangs in the balance.

Unexpected allies.
With threats lurking around every corner, Evie is forced to trust her newfound alliance. Together they must fight not only other Arcana, but also Bagmen zombies, post-apocalyptic storms, and cannibals.

Gut-wrenching treachery.
When Evie meets Death, things get even more complicated. Though falling for Jack, she’s drawn to the dangerous Endless Knight as well. Somehow the Empress and Death share a history, one that Evie can’t remember—but Death can’t forget…

In this seductive follow-up to Poison Princess, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole takes us deeper into the dark world of the Arcana Chronicles.

Rating: ★★★★

Three words: Damn it, Evie.

There are so many things I have to say about Endless Knight, but first, let us begin with the plot.

Initially, Endless Knight felt like the type of book which I would give 3.5/5 . It was filled with action and everything was going well, but I just wasn’t feeling it. Thankfully, it progressed to a 4.0 as the story developed. I would have given the book a 4.5, but the fact that some parts of the story felt more plot driven instead of being character driven made me reconsider my rating. It felt like whenever the plot was running out of steam, or when I began to wonder what was going to happen next, new twists and turns were introduced to keep the story moving.

One thing which was emphasized in Endless Knight was to view the situation from various perspectives. I applaud Ms. Cole for doing so as it allowed Evie to make choices while being aware of what the other parties felt. This also made Evie more mature as a character.

Throughout the entire story, I really enjoyed  how everything – be it an action or an image – was symbolic. Somehow, being able to draw links between certain characters and understanding the things they did gave them so much more depth.

Now, on to the exciting part – the stars of the book! Goodness, reading Endless Knight had sent my emotions spiraling back and forth the extreme ends of the emotional spectrum thanks to these people!

One thing I have to say is that Evie and Jack are the sexiest couple ever. Not to mention my favourite couple too – I had named them my OTP (One True Pair)! I was going absolutely nuts shipping them. Here’s a quote I picked up from the book:

As ever, the fire between us stoked into an inferno. That combustible chemistry.  – p.71

And like any other fangirl, I despised Death – he was filled with nonsense and disgusted me. All he ever did was invade Evie’s mind and irritate her relentlessly. However, as I slowly began gaining insight to him, I actually felt my heart soften towards him. Somehow, the prospect of being alone for all eternity made me pity him. 

What happened next can only be described as a major plot twist. I shan’t reveal what happened to keep all of you in suspense, but all that I can say is that Evie and Jack are no more!

That’s right – Evie and Death (or Aric, if you may) are my new OTP! *cue virtual heart-shaped fireworks*

Despite the fact that I totally ship Evie and Death now, I’m unable to bring myself to fully dislike Jack (which is surprising) – for once, I’m actually in the neutral zone.

With regards to the love angle, these two quotes capture exactly how I – and Evie, of course – felt:

When I’d fallen for Jack, it’d been sizzling and combustible. The blazing inferno. What I’d felt for Aric was like a wave pounding against a shore for all time.  – p.289

I knew I would never be the same. My relationship with Jackson had felt fated. Whatever I had with Aric felt… endless.  – p.289

At this point, yet another twist simply had to be introduced and dear Evie had to make a decision which encompassed the fate of her fellow Arcana. Which brings me back to my first three words: Damn it, Evie.

Nevertheless, Endless Knight was a delightful read, and I’m highly anticipating the next book, Dead of Winter!

What did you think of Endless Knight? Comment your thoughts down below!

Signature--JZ

—–

Author’s Note: Hi all! I apologise for the delay in returning from my hiatus (Adel had mentioned that I would be back by end-February but it’s almost mid-March now). It’s great to be back, and I can’t wait for more exciting things to come on APH! :)

One thought on “Review: Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

Thoughts?

