Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet

Scarlet
by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2
Publication Date: 5 February 2013
Puffin, Paperback, UK, 452 pages
Source: Library

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

The fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth…

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Ratings: ★★★★★

Let me start off by saying this: I SHIP SCARLET AND WOLF. 

Now that I’ve got that out of my system, let’s carry on with the review!

Scarlet was written from a third person’s point of view, although it felt more like first person to me. I didn’t even realise that it was written in third person until I was close to the end of the book! The story switched back and forth between Scarlet and Cinder, although there were other perspectives shown (which I won’t talk about, so that I won’t take all the fun out of the story). I was rather upset by the fact that I wasn’t able to really sit down and read the book undisturbed – it sort of ruined the impact it could have made. Nevertheless, Scarlet did not fail to leave me breathless at the end of the book!

A few things about the characters: I found Scarlet really feisty and bad-ass (she learnt how to use a gun when she was eleven!) Somehow, her ferocity made her really attractive as a character, and not to mention one of the female leads! As for Wolf, he gave me the impression that he was really shy and protective – both in an endearing way. I loved his character so much! The fact that he was an alpha male, paired with how he can be really humourous, gentle and sweet he can be, really made me swoon so badly. I totally agree with Adel on the fact that I want need the Wolf to my Scarlet.

One thing I must say that Thorne is absolutely hilarious. You really can’t help but laugh at the things he does! He was also annoying, but still, he’s rather nice. As for Cinder, I really liked her fighting spirit, and how she just keep pushing on through the events in book. I suppose the fact that she was an escaped convict made her this way, slipping through the hands of the police and constantly on the run. Similar to what Adel felt, I was more intrigued by Scarlet’s story, and hence was impatient to get over the chapters concerning Cinder and Kai. However, those chapters were extremely important in aiding the development of the story, leading up to how Cinder and Scarlet’s paths crossed.

There were many twists in the story (some of which were extremely upsetting), and I was lost between trusting and hating Wolf at one point of the book. One moment, I was just making weird noises (a cross between a strangled chicken and a cat that was being sat on) when I found out that Wolf had betrayed Scarlet, and the next, I was gawking at the sudden and mysterious help that he had offered her. Another shocking moment was when I figured that there is a possibility that Scarlet has Lunar blood/ is one-quarter Lunar! Emperor Kai did make a decision that really shook the world, and– (I’ll leave this part out, so that you guys will get more feels when you read the book!)

To conclude my review, I simply loved Scarlet, and Ms. Meyer did a wonderful job describing the scenes and events in the book, thus allowing me to be able to visualize it just like a movie. I can’t wait for the next book, Cress, and for all the mysteries to unravel!

Yours truly

Signature--JZ

PS: Check out an excerpt of the audiobook of Scarlet, courtesy of Macmillan Audio! :D

PPS: Check out Pinterest board for The Lunar Chronicles here! I was highly distracted by it while writing my review of Scarlet – I couldn’t help myself.

One thought on “Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer | A Page of Heaven

Thoughts?