Review: Elixir by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Elixir

Elixir
by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series:
Covenant #3.5
Publication date: 27 November 2012
Spencer Hill Press, Paperback, 74 pages
Source: Library

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS OF THE FIRST 3 BOOKS IN THE COVENANT SERIES.

Aiden St. Delphi will do anything to save Alex.
Even if it means doing the one thing he will never forgive himself for.
Even if it means making war against the gods.

Rating: ★★★★★

My heart is shattered to pieces and every single one of those pieces are weeping for Aiden and Alex. Elixir is a novella of the Covenant series by JLA which takes place right after Deity, the third installment. I really admire Aiden for his perseverance, hope and everlasting love for Alex. I know that sounds grossly cheesy but their relationship is so great they’ve probably knocked cheesy senseless.

The synopsis above basically summarizes everything that happened. Aiden did something he will most likely never forgive himself for as it was something Alex feared most and after that, defied the gods. Did I mention I was weeping throughout a majority of the novella, and the fact that I’ve got a cold while reading it really did not help. That twisty-gut feeling also did not go away, that was how touching Elixir was.

In the end, I was utterly and undoubtedly convinced the love between Alex & Aiden was those that could overcome anything. Yes, I’m a hopeless romantic so my words might not hold credibility but just trust me on this. You know, everything in Elixir really proves how much those two should be together, with Seth out of the picture. Because from what I can infer, there might still be that nice, fun Seth underneath his God Killer exterior but deep down, he’s a selfish person. I highly doubt he could care for Alex the way Aiden do. Moreover, it’s not as if Alex is in love with Seth the way she is with Aiden.

Ok, I need to stop my Team Aiden propaganda. In a nutshell, Elixir was a much more powerful novella than I would’ve thought and if you’re going to read it, prepare some tissues and don’t go anywhere public. Unless you want to look like a weepy lunatic. ;)

Adelena

4 thoughts on “Review: Elixir by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Katie’s Book Blog: short story – One Business

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry | A Page of Heaven

  3. Pingback: Review: Sentinel by Jennifer L. Armentrout | A Page of Heaven

  4. Pingback: Short Story Saturday: Elixir by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Katie's Book BlogKatie's Book Blog

Thoughts?