Review: Revelations by J.A. Souders

Revelations

Revelations by J.A. Souders
Series: The Elysium Chronicles #2
Published: 05 November 2013
Tor Teen, Hardcover, 352 pages
Source: Library

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR RENEGADE.

Six weeks after her arrival on the Surface, Evelyn Winters is no closer to unlocking the memories lost in her subconscious than she was when she first came. Isolated in a strange new society, Evie has only Gavin Hunter to remind her of who she once was.

But even with a clean slate, it’s easy to see that Evie doesn’t fit in on the Surface. And as her differences make her feel more and more alone, she can’t help but yearn for that place she doesn’t remember: the isolated city hidden in the depths of the ocean. Elysium. Home.

But she can’t exactly tell Gavin what she’s feeling. Not when he’s the one who helped her escape Elysium in the first place, and has the scars to prove it. Though the doctors say otherwise, Gavin believes that Evie just needs time. And if her memories don’t come back, well, maybe she’s better off not remembering her past.

But the decision may be out of their hands when Evie’s ever-elusive memories begin to collide with reality. People and images from her past appear in the most unlikely places, haunting her, provoking her…and making her seem not only strange but dangerous.

Evie and Gavin can’t wait around for her memories to return. They’ll have to journey across the Outlands of the Surface to find help, and in the end, their search may just lead them back to the place it all started…

Rating: ★★

To be honest, Adelena’s review of Revelations pretty much sums up my experience for this book.

I do, however, have a few additional comments to make.

Firstly, Evie felt like a different character. I suppose that the change in her personality is attributed to her memory loss – instead of the strong-willed girl I read of in Renegade, Evie was somewhat weak, yet kind and firm at the same time. It’s an odd combination that even I find hard to fathom. Also, I found that Evie was often pushed around or very submissive to others unless something triggers her inner Enforcer and she becomes an unstoppable five-minute-kung-fu-master.

As for Asher, I was amazed at how irritating he was. I constantly felt like reaching into the book and wringing his neck.

Moving on to the story – there was a part which was reminiscent of the game The Last of Us, but I shan’t reveal it as it would be a spoiler. I would say that Souders did a good job in creating a creepy atmosphere in various parts of the story, allowing me to visualise the places rather vividly in my mind.

I was disappointed at how convenient the flow of events were. For example, when a character is needed at a certain point, he would appear and help the story progress. It felt too easy and simple for such things to happen, leaving me to wonder if Souders had considered possible complications to add suspense to the plot.

Next, the dialogue. It did not flow naturally to me, and the male characters were portrayed in a rather girly manner (they could be really petty at times) due to that. The way the characters behaved even felt cliché, and the style and tone used for speaking by them was not consistent – I felt like bits of conversation were taken from all over the place. It did not fit in with the character’s personality, causing me to feel like I was reading about different people altogether.

It looks like Revelations has succumbed to what I would describe as the second-book syndrome – Adelena’s analogy of Revelations to an accounting textbook describes this syndrome very well – an informative but boring story. I am, however, still keen on reading the third instalment in The Elysium Chronicles, which is yet to be named. The ending of Revelations had managed to pique my interest, thus saving this trilogy from being totally given up on by me. I certainly hope that the next book will end better than this!

Signature--JZ

Thoughts?

