Review: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Princess

Clockwork Princess
by Cassandra Clare
Series: The Infernal Devices #3
Published: 01 March 2013
Walker, Paperback, 568 pages
Source: Gifted

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR CLOCKWORK ANGEL & CLOCKWORK PRINCE.

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

Rating: ★★★★★

Right after finishing Clockwork Prince 2 months ago, I came up with a small list of my hopes for Clockwork Princess. I thought I should share it before commenting further.

Hopes for Clockwork Princess:

  1. JEM DOES NOT DIE.
  2. The ending won’t end up with Tessa, Jem nor Will dying.
  3. Whoever Tessa ends up with, the reasons have to be good & not unsupported, without evidence.
  4. Stuff that’ll make me cry buckets.
  5. A HAPPY ENDING.

Out of all the above, the only thing I can comment on without giving spoilers is number 4. I cried so much, my eyes turned red and became swollen the next day. It didn’t help either that I stayed up until 3:50 am finishing it, spent another 30 minutes crying and then got up at 9 am the following morning. That morning, being today, actually. So yes, the feels are still overwhelming me and practically everything that I see and hear reminds me of The Infernal Devices. Thankfully, I’m not bawling my eyes out anymore.

I think I’ve already given enough praise on the technical aspects of Cassandra Clare’s books in my reviews of Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince. Hence, this review will be purely about the crazy, joyful and painful feelings evoked by Clockwork Princess.

Cassandra Clare must be the Queen of Heartbreak. My heart was broken then messily put back together countless times throughout the book. Not a single moment was dull and every one of the characters were so real I felt like I was truly there beside them. Though, I’m not sure why I am even surprised, it is a book by Cassandra Clare after all.

I swear by the Angel that no one who have at least a shred of humanity can survive this book, especially the last 100 pages, without feeling like they would explode from volatile emotions. In Clockwork Princess, I finally understood how Tessa could love Will and Jem at the same time because despite being on Team Jem through the first 2 books, I finally got charmed by Will too. So I couldn’t decide between Jem & Will either.

Moreover, if anyone wanted a perfect example of a good love triangle, this is it. I’m usually not a fan of love triangles but Tessa, Jem & Will’s situation was definitely an exception. There wasn’t any of those annoying ‘fighting over the girl’ nonsense, which is what usually irritates me about love triangles. Instead, everything between the 3 of them was so realistic, endearing and personal, no doubt far better than the usual pettiness involved in typical love triangles.

As for the question of who Tessa ended up with, all there is to say is no matter which team you’re on, you will be satisfied. Satisfaction, however, does not mean the absence of snot and tears. To say the ending was unexpected would be the understatement of the year. I never ever saw that coming. At. All. And while I was still bawling my eyes out, fresh from finishing the book, I thought it was completely ironic that I could love a book that has left me so broken.

Clockwork Princess is undoubtedly the best book by Cassandra Clare I’ve read so far. Actually, it is the best book I’ve ever read, so far. Saying goodbye to these endearing characters is like sending off dear friends. It does not help either that when I go back to reading The Mortal Instruments, set about 130 years after The Infernal Devices, I wouldn’t be able to help but acknowledge that most of them would be dead. I’ve never been so hungover a trilogy before and my extremely dazed current state is starting to scare me a little. Is it just me, or do those of you who have read this feel like your life can never go back to the way it was?

It would definitely be quite some time before I would dare read Clockwork Princess again. I wonder if one day, I would be able to read it without feeling like a little part of myself died at the end. Well, that day might come in 30 years. Or never. Now that you guys know how much of a psychological wreck Clockwork Princess would cause a human being, be sure to read it at a point of time where you can lock yourself at home for the next few days. Need I even say that one should never attempt to finish the last few pages of it in public? Well, unless you like to be seen as a blubbering, snotty mess.

To wrap this up, The Infernal Devices has definitely carved itself a special place in my heart. This might sound cheesy, but in all honesty, I’m completely sure I won’t ever forget this beautiful, touching trilogy for the rest of my life. Call me mad but I hope to pass my copy of Clockwork Princess down to my future generations. It is a wonderful, heart-warming trilogy about family, sacrifice, friendship and love, all of which are topics that transcend time, the constants in our ever-changing world. I guess that’s just my way of immortalizing the resplendent characters and story. Sure, this book does not mark the end of the Shadowhunter Chronicles, but it does mark the end of The Infernal Devices.

And this is the best way I know to say goodbye to it…

Ave atque vale.

Adelena

5 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

  1. Lisa

    I’ve been meaning to start this series for such a long time now, especially with everyone telling me just how amazing it is! But I haven’t yet found the time…I also haven’t even finished Cassandra Clare’s other series yet, but I hope to during my summer break! Yet another amazing review, for this amazing series, and an amazing author!

    Lisa
    Become Blogger of the Week!
    http://turningpages94.blogspot.com/p/blogger-of-week.html

    Like

    1. Yup, you really should read this trilogy! I think it got better as it progressed & is much better than Cassie Clare’s other series, The Mortal Instruments. :)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013 | A Page of Heaven

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry | A Page of Heaven

  4. Ori

    You have the most amazing taste in books!!! Clockwork Princess broke my heart and will always be one of my favourites. CoHF comes out today!!!!!!!! I just know it’s gonna kill me. It’s nice to know that there are other readers that got into Cassandra Clare’s books like I did.

    Like

Thoughts?

