Interview with Kellie Sheridan

tour banner- mortality

Hey guys!

I’ve had the amazing opportunity to interview Kellie Sheridan, the author of Mortality! Do check out my review of the book here.

Without further ado, here is…

The Interview

1. What inspired you to write Mortality?

Last summer I became obsessed with zombie survival stories. I know I’m really late to the party on this one, but all of a sudden I was marathoning The Walking Dead and reading every zombie book I could get my hands on. Eventually, I just started writing, wanting to see what I could contribute to the genre.

2. How did you come up with the title?

I played around with a few different options, but they were all too complicated. Mortality was taken from a longer title that I won’t admit to considering. Naming things has never been my strong suite.

3. The cover of Mortality is creepy-cool! Who designed it? What was your reaction when you first saw it?

Ravven! This girl is my hero! I am so in love with all of the covers she designs, which everyone should go check out at http://www.ravven.com/! I got to be part of the process, so Ravven would send me different ideas, take my input and come up with something more amazing than what I could have imagined. I can’t wait to work with her again on Mortality’s sequel.

4. Is there a message in your novel that you would like to put across to readers?

I think the message that first got me started is how fragile life is. How one small thing can change your path. Go left, meet your dream guy. Go right, be bitten by a zombie.

5. If you had to write Mortality all over again, would you change anything about it?

Hmmm, that’s tough. Off the top of my head, I honestly can’t think of anything, but I’m sure as my writing continues to develop I’ll see lots of things I could have done differently.

6. Were there any challenges you faced while writing Mortality?

My biggest challenge was not being overly influenced by other zombie media out there. I needed to create my own brand of the undead, and make sure I wasn’t copying any other writers in the process. It turned out well in the end, but it took me awhile to get there.

7. Were there any songs you listened to which inspired scenes in Mortality?

Lots. A couple I would recommend are ‘Chasing Rubies’ by Hudson Taylor, ‘Sincerely, Jane’ by Janelle Monae and ‘All My Days’ by Alexi Murdoch.

8. Which character from Mortality can you relate to the most?

Probably Savannah. She’s driven by the need to always be doing something, making things better. I’m not quite as proactive in that as I could be, but it’s definitely something I aspire to.

9. If your book were to be adapted into a movie, which actors/actresses would you cast to play the characters?

I actually put way too much thought into this. You can see the whole cast at another tour stop from earlier this month – http://readingcave.blogspot.ca/2013/04/dream-cast-morality.html

10. If you were to create a Mortality-inspired frangrace, what would it smell like? What elements in Mortality could be incorporated in the unique scent?

Heh, I can’t imagine it would smell very good. Actually, maybe I’d focused on things like vanilla, and baking… things that smell like home so that everyone who is fighting to survive the zombie-apocalypse has a way to remember what they’re fighting for.

11. Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Consider all your options. The world of publishing is changing, so if you’re willing to put in the blood, sweat and tears it takes to make sure you’re always improving your writing, you can definitely find a place for yourself in this industry.

I hope that you all enjoyed the interview, and  do take time to check out Kellie’s website! Her twitter account is @Kellie_Sheridan, and click here to view her Goodreads profile.Thank you Kellie, for doing this interview! I’m really honoured and thrilled to be able to do so. :D

Yours truly
Signature--JZ

Thoughts?

