Review: Rise by Andrea Cremer

RiseRise
by Andrea Cremer
Series: Nightshade Prequel #2
Publication Date: 08 January 2013
Philomel, Hardcover, 385 pages
Source: Library

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR RIFT.

Everything Conatus stands for is at risk. Hoping to gather enough resistance to save their order, Ember and Barrow attempt a desperate escape. But fate offers little mercy. When their mission is exposed, the  couple face relentless pursuit by the supernatural horrors that act on the commands of Eira’s ally: the mysterious Bosque Mar. A shocking revelation forces Ember out of hiding, sending her back into the heart of dark magic at Tearmunn keep, where she must convince her old friend Alistair of her love or face dire consequences. Ember’s deception offers the only chance for the resistance to succeed, but what she discovers in the shadows beneath the keep will shatter her world and bring about the Witches’ War.

Richly sensual and full of magic, action and danger, Andrea Cremer’s fifth book set in the Nightshade world is an edge-of-your-seat page turner.

Rating: ★★★

I have mixed feelings after reading this book. I’m both annoyed and hooked by it. But maybe slightly more annoyed. Reading Rise was very much like reading a history textbook. Boring mostly, with bits and pieces of interesting parts. I could see how everything linked to the Nightshade trilogy but that seemed like one of the only things worth noticing in this prequel duology.

Ember and Barrow were quite a bland book couple. Sure, they had their sweet and hot moments but I wasn’t feeling their love, just like back in Rift. I also kept anticipating some excitement throughout the book, which never really happened until the end. Unfortunately, Rise was one of those books that are only truly interesting when being concluded. I honestly wanted to like this book because I loved Nightshade, the very first book of the actual trilogy. However, it seems that the books in the series only went downhill from there.

I had to applaud Andrea Cremer on the writing style regarding the POV of the characters in Rise though. As the book was written in a third person’s POV, the perspective could be altered to favour any one of the characters and mostly switched between Ember, the protagonist, and Alistair, one of the villains. The view given on Alistair’s inner thoughts was very effective in creating a more supported story-line. Though his thoughts were usually disturbing in their darkness, they were fascinating.

As for the conclusion, I was flabbergasted. It was abrupt and sudden. There were so many loose ends it must have been illegal. Needless to say, I was pretty darn pissed when I finished this book. It completely disappointed me and I really don’t see myself reading anymore books by Andrea Cremer, even though the Nightshade trilogy is being continued (the next book’s called Snakeroot). I won’t say never though, in the case I have to eat my words. I hope, for the sake of those choosing to continue with the Nightshade series, that it gets better than this.

Adelena

Thoughts?

