Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Onyx

Onyx
by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series:
Lux #2
Publication date: 14 August 2012
Entangled Teen, Paperback, 366 pages
Source: Library

Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR OBSIDIAN.

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Rating: ★★★★

My brain… it’s going to combust. Why, Ms. Armentrout? The Lux series is going to be the end of me, in both a good and bad way. Firstly, I’ve noticed a pattern in Jennifer Armentrout’s books (I’ve read 4 & reviewed 3 so far, this being the 3rd) – they start off kind of boring but the end is always gigantically explosive. That was a big reason why it didn’t hit 5 stars for me. The writing was interesting and funny as usual but the first half of the book really needed more action while the later half… lets just say it left me dazed for a whole day. Basically, it went from slightly chick lit to BOOM!

Onyx picked up where Obsidian left off with Katy & Daemon having some sort of alien connection. I can’t say what it exactly is but it’s actually already pretty obvious, what they had between them. I loved that Katy had changed a lot from the first book until the end of this one because what she went through are stuff that’s  bound to change anyone’s perspective on life. However, I unfortunately didn’t feel as connected to Katy as I would’ve liked. Although I adored the fact that she loves books and was a blogger too, there just wasn’t a realistic quality to her. Maybe it’s me, not her, who can’t relate to her strong ability of empathizing & sympathizing with others all the time.

Katy’s relationship with Daemon was another reason why I could not connect with her. I simply didn’t understand why she did not trust Daemon when she should have. No matter how infuriating he was, in the end he was always there for her when she needed a shoulder to cry on or someone to rescue her. Yes, Daemon really can be a pain in the neck (a hot one at that) but since she reads a lot too, wouldn’t she at least have suspected more about his true feelings for her and correctly place her trust? I would have.

Anyway, I do like Onyx, really! I just feel that there are many areas for improvement. However, the cliffhanger at the end will just make you want to pull your hair out. All I can think about right now is ‘So what happens to Bethany?’ & ‘Gimme Opal and no one gets hurt!‘. As any sane person can tell, I’m going slightly deranged. That’s it. No. I can’t go on without typing some extremely crazy stuff due to the roiling emotions inside me. I sincerely hope you guys will fare better than me after reading Onyx.

Adelena

2 thoughts on “Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

    1. I agree that she writes crazily fast! Not sure about the ghost writer part though & I guess the reason why some can’t enjoy her books is because they’re pretty close to chick lit. Great for a light & fun read but would probably be disappointing if one’s looking for a meaningful book. :)

      Like

Thoughts?

